5 Hidden Date Night Gems in Los Angeles

10 Nov

Do you feel like you’ve done everything there is to do in Los Angeles? Ever find yourself planning a date with someone and wondering what you could do besides the same boring ol’ dinner-and-a-movie?

I was born and raised in this city and I feel like this all the time! I’m constantly trying to find out about cool, unique things my friends are doing for fun; like outdoor concerts, beer fests, food truck festivals, etc. Those things are all fun with a big group of friends but what about new ideas on where to bring a date in L.A.? As much as I enjoy being wined and dined like every other girl, I more so get a kick out of going on borderline cheesy and out-of-the-ordinary “day dates” or date nights. This post will help give you a few ideas for putting together a more memorable outing with your special someone.

Here are a few of L.A.’s best kept secrets (well, not so secret but definitely underrated):

CINESPIA CEMETERY SCREENINGS
Hollywood, CA
http://www.cinespia.org
Price: $10/person

I just had to place this as #1 because it is arguably my favorite thing to do in Los Angeles. Cinespia is a non-profit organization that puts on summer night screenings of old classic movies that are projected on the side of a building right in the middle of the Hollywood Forever Cemetery! Creeeeepy! Well, not really. Sure, famous celebrities’ tombstones surround you in the dark night but you’re there with thousands of fellow movie buffs drinking wine and feasting on your packed picnics. It’s the ultimate spot to get a little cozy with your hot date as you are encouraged to bring pillows and blankets to picnic on and cuddle in. My advice? Bring a few small candles (mood lighting AND helps you see in pitch black), pack light finger foods (sandwiches, chips, fruit), BYOB (they allow alcohol), and bring lots of blankets. My boyfriend and I came here on our second date which was perfect since our first was very let’s ask 100 questions and get to know each other, whereas our Cinespia date was let’s just drink, cuddle and kiss. Yeah, we were that couple. The one you wanted to yell “get a room!” to but you were kiiiiiinda enjoying it in a sick way, too. Anyway, I knew I liked him after our first date but after he held me at the screening, that’s when I felt the real chemistry…. Something about watching The Big Lebowski with a cute guy amongst the ghosts of The Ramones really got my blood flowin’!

HUNTINGTON LIBRARY, ART COLLECTIONS & BOTANICAL GARDENS
San Marino, CA
http://www.huntington.org
Price: $20 weekdays/$23 weekends per person

Get a little culture in ya! The Huntington Estate is perfect to explore on a beautiful afternoon after a nice brunch with your hottie-with-a-body. I mean, don’t you want to make sure your date has a little more substance to them than being a good drinking buddy the night before? Take a free guided tour around the grounds and witness the most jaw-dropping gorgeous Chinese & Japanese gardens and learn all there is to know about Henry Huntington’s life. He was like, the creator of all things Pasadena– kind of a big deal. His impressive collection of fine art and the featured exhibits are educational and surprisingly really fun to see! I’m a member at The Huntington since I visit so darn much (it’s like a Disney annual pass, you gotta buy one if you’re a frequent customer or else you’ll go broke) and everyone I bring, date or not, loves it! Check out their website for their one FREE DAY a month if you’re a recessionista!

photo credit: EJP Photo via photopin cc

PALM READING AT TAMARA PSYCHIC READINGS
6429 W. Olympic Blvd.
Los Angeles, CA
Call Tamara at (323) 937-5294 & tell her Joyce’s blog sent you!
Price: $25-$50 *Varies with reading type; cards, palms, etc.*

I just got off the phone with Tamara asking her permission to post this since she performs her readings out of her cozy West LA home, and she was more than happy to be part of this week’s post! My girlfriends and I do “girls night” here every six months or so just to be slightly creeped out and laugh together. Tamara is a sweet woman who has a true gift and can give you a light-hearted enjoyable card reading or really help you do some serious soul searching if needed. But in this case, taking your date for a palm reading would be the ultimate wow factor after a nice dinner! I mean, how’s that for memorable?! When’s the last time a guy asked you to get your future told with him? Kind of dark and twisted but sexy! Tamara performs couples readings and asks first if you only want the good news… which is probably a good idea because if her psychic joo-joo is telling her he’s a total douchebag, this might not be the best way to find out—in front of him! Tell her Joyce sent you and you’ll be taken great care of! Happy reading!

PICNIC AT VISTA HERMOSA PARK
100 N. Toluca St.
Los Angeles, CA
Price: Free 99

Vista Hermosa Park is truly a hidden gem. When my ex-boyfriend got me a beautiful Downtown apartment for Valentine’s Day, I had a perfect view of this quaint park. The first time I ran here with my dog I had no idea I’d get to the top, turn around, and see a breathtaking view of the Downtown LA skyline. This view isn’t the typical overly photographed, everyone-drives-by-it sight of the buildings. It feels so untouched since there are hardly ever people around and it’s so quiet you can hear your thoughts. My ex and I never made it out for a picnic like I always wanted (refer to my 1st intro post—he was the workaholic that provided an opulent lifestyle to distract me from noticing his absence), so I did the next best thing with this insane view…

I threw my puppy his first birthday here! Hopefully you’ll have better luck and have a gorgeous hunk share a glass of vino and a charcuterie & cheese platter with you while watching the sunset. Cheers!

 

 

 

HIKING AT EATON CANYON FALLS TRAIL
1750 N. Altadena Dr.
Pasadena, CA
Price: Blood, Sweat & Tears (kidding, free and easy hike!)

Everyone wants to date someone fit and athletic—so, what better way to put them to the test than a hike in beautiful Pasadena! Don’t worry, ladies, it’s a pretty mild trail so you won’t be constantly anxious about him seeing you sweat up a storm! Going on a hike after waking up next to him just feels so right. Exercising together is a great way to bond for new and not-so-new couples because it gives you a chance to designate time to do nothing but talk and give each other your undivided attention. This trail leads to an awesome famous waterfall that many take photographs in front of to say, “I conquered!” Be sure to bring lots of water and your dogs if they’re physically fit! Avoid the weekends if you can—Eaton Canyon pops off on Sunday mornings!

 

 

One Response to “5 Hidden Date Night Gems in Los Angeles”

  1. my first date April 1, 2014 at 8:55 pm #

    It’s perfect time to make some plans for the
    future and it’s time to be happy. I have read this post and if I
    could I want to suggest you some interesting
    things or tips. Maybe you can write next articles referring
    to this article. I desire to read even more things about it!

Leave a comment